This article is meant to provide information on how unsharing or deleting shared pages and features can impact Adopt end users.
If after reviewing this article you still haven't resolved your customer's inquiry you may escalate to Pendo Support by submitting a ticket.
What Happens If I Disable A Shared Page?
Once a page or feature is deleted or unshared, Adopt will stop the sync between the partner version and the Adopt end user’s version.
If the page or feature stops being used by a guide, the page/feature gets deleted.
End users will always have access to their version of the shared page or feature, even if the partner version has been unshared or deleted. But if their shared pages/features needs to be updated, they will not be updated until they have been shared again.
For pages, this could cause issues if the urls in your app change and the rules on those previously shared pages need to be updated.
What Happens If I Unshare A Feature?
The same goes for features:
If a feature rule no longer applies to a previously shared feature because of changes to the HTML or CSS of your application, then that feature will exist for the Adopt end user with the wrong rule until it is updated and reshared.
In all situations where a feature rule no longer applies, the Adopt end user will see the wrong analytics or no analytics for those pages and features until the rules are updated and they are reshared. If a segment exists that is tied to one of these features or pages and that segment controls whether an Adopt end user guide displays, then the guide will either display in the wrong location if the target was moved or the guide will simply display the wrong information.
It’s important to remember that Adopt end users can create their own pages too, as end users will be looking at their own pages in addition to their shared pages.
If the situation warrants it (see above paragraph for details on this), Partners should consider changing the rule instead of unsharing pages. This will enable Partners to understand how many pages they have unshared to their end users.
Is There A Limit As To How Many Pages I Can Share With An End User?
No, but it is better to start small and add more pages as needed. Customers can add their own pages as well, so it's best to only share what you think are high priority pages for users.
Be careful when changing the rules on a page or feature that has already been shared, as your Adopt customers may have created guides targeted to those pages or segments using those page analytics.
Tip: To download a copy of this article to your knowledge base, click here.